ADVERTISEMENT

No more balloons - a tradition dies

That’s matter of opinion..
Exactly. The fact that tens of thousands of fans continue to purchase and release the balloons shows that it is far from a stupid and dead tradition. I loved it as a kid when my dad would buy me one of those balloons and I waited with excitement for us to score so I could release it. People forget that for many Nebraskans going to the game is a family event and buying a balloon for your kid(s) is a nice tradition. And I remember when I was a Sophomore at UNL in 1978 and I took my girlfriend to her first ever game (OU in 78!!) and she loved it when I bought her a balloon to release. At one point a huge percentage of P5 schools had this balloon release tradition. NU is one of the only schools that kept it and I, for one, am glad we did. Too many on this board presume to speak for all fans as if they are some kind of damn expert on which traditions are great and which are stupid:

1. The balloon tradition is stupid. It should go.
2. The sellout streak is fake. It should go.
3. The tunnel walk is lame with the stupid Chicago Bulls rip-off music. It should go.
4. The Spring game is a scam and a sham. We need to stop supporting it.
5. Actually even going to the game is no longer fun. Horrible seats and access to bathrooms/concessions. Better situation at home with my TV and man cave. So we should stop going to games too until the admin improves things.

I will be coming to the OU game this year. I am taking my 10 year old grand nephew. I am sad there will be no balloons for him.

The tradition is fine. The optics of releasing trash to go wherever it pleases is probably not a good fit, currently. Maybe we can just bring an old McDonalds bag to the game and everyone go to the top of the stadium and throw it over the terrace after the first touchdown. At least those bags are biodegradable.