ADVERTISEMENT

Money is not a problem - Trev Alberts

Redmich

Senior
Jun 21, 2022
If we are willing to pay 7.5 million to Frost to not coach 2 more games how much per year should we be willing to offer the future of the program to coach 13+ games per year?

if I am a high level coach I’m asking for a lot more than 7.5 per year

Yes I realize you don’t prorate like that

I know what other blue blood programs are willing to pay - are we?

The AD said money isn’t an issue
We threw a bunch of money at Frost. How did that work out. There are some very good young coaches who will work for what Frost was making OR less. The “name” guys some are throwing out aren’t likely to be interested unless we guaranteed them insane money. Personally I cringe at the thought of paying ANYBODY Mel Tucker money.

We threw a bunch of money at Frost. How did that work out. There are some very good young coaches who will work for what Frost was making OR less. The “name” guys some are throwing out aren’t likely to be interested unless we guaranteed them insane money. Personally I cringe at the thought of paying ANYBODY Mel Tucker money.
I agree. We are going to be fiscally responsible.

I agree. We are going to be fiscally responsible.
I can see paying up for a proven coach but what MSU did was nuts. Hell what we gave Frost was nuts. We could of had multiple solid guys for half that. The fact that Frost demanded that kind of money to come home should have been our first sign.

If we want a sniff at the playoffs we will have to shell out 13 million a year on NIL money. It's no longer just what we pay a coach.

We will be paying Mel Tucker money to someone.

If MJ retains the job.. what do you pay him going forward?

Do you pay him what Scott was making or do you base it on how many wins he gets this season?