ADVERTISEMENT

Brace or no brace? Discuss

Truthfully, I am not knowledgeable about the subject so I don't care one way or the other. This is one of those things you have to trust in the people whose job it is to know the pros/cons and to weight the risks accordingly. If this makes it easier for the OT to actually block edge rushers without letting them get to the QB in seemingly half a second, then cool.

I hated wearing a knee brace after an ACL tear. It put abnormal pressure on my knee and ankles. I’m not sure there’s convincing scientific evidence to support their use.
'tis a good point dingle. Teddy had an ACL tear with it.

I am not an expert but seems reasonable to ask what the statistics are with and without use.

I think smarter people than myself who are qualified to make those decisions have made them. I don't know what other schools do, but I hope it helps.

I'm not an Orthopedic Surgeon, but maybe it should be a case-by-case basis. If you're not 100%, which almost anyone that has played football will agree that you're never 100%, especially 4-5 games into a season. If you need it wear it. If you don't, then don't wear it. There's a risk and reward to wearing them that they should understand though. Just like most running backs don't wear mobility restricting pads, and if you're a QB and thrown with regular pads it's almost impossible to make half the throws you can without pads.

Last edited:
Reactions: huntered
I hated wearing a knee brace after an ACL tear. It put abnormal pressure on my knee and ankles. I’m not sure there’s convincing scientific evidence to support their use.
Had an ACL repaired in 95 and continued to play sports. I wore a fiberglass that weighed 5-7 lbs. I repeated pulled that hammie for the next two years and then just tossed the thing. No issues with hammies after that.

I got blasted for saying this same thing a couple years ago. They're awful for mobility and put strain elsewhere on the body.