ADVERTISEMENT

Practice Observations

slickbud

Walk On
Gold Member
Jun 18, 2001
I attended a BYU football scrimmage on Saturday. No, I wasn't sporting any Nebraska gear as I was a guest of the athletic program. I've been attending pre-season scrimmages for several years and follow them pretty closely living here in Utah. Nothing top secret, but a few notes and observations that might answer a few questions I see floating around on the board recently.

A couple of observations:
1) The team scrimmaged about 50 plays. About 50/50 run/pass. Lots of dink-and-dump, timing passes and zone read.
2) The first team offense was without their sophomore center Tejan Koroma, who appears will be suspended for the game. He was running with the third team. He will be missed. He's up for some preseason watch lists. His replacement is Parker Dawe, a 6-3, 285 lb. Jr. who was a *** in the Rivals system (2014). Looked okay.
3) Mitch Matthews. Only participated in a couple of plays. He's been recovering from a hernia operation and appears to be going slower than anticipated. No passes thrown to him, but wasn't noticeably slower or hobbled. Probably just taking it slow so he's ready for the opener. He's listed at 6-6 215 lbs and he looked all of that. He's an impressive receiver.
4) Since Matthews was out, the star of the scrimmage was another WR, Nick Kurtz. Nick was injured in the preseason last year and didn't play a down all year. He was a 2014 **** from a CC in CA. He's listed as 6-6, 205, great hands and fast. He caught two nice TD passes and a beautiful 40 yard sideline fade from Taysom. They seem to have really nice chemistry going. Between Mitch and Nick, the NU DBs will have their HANDS FULL. He was impressive.