ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Sorry if already discussed, but anyone have any experience with Oklahoma Joe deluxe pellet grills?

No, but I have a Pit Boss and like it a lot. I think in today's market, pellet grills are a lot like TV's. They are all made in a handful of factories in China. Traeger used to be made in America, but my understanding is they off-shored their manufacturing several years back - which is why their higher price is now really for name alone and not higher quality. My thought is find one that is the best price for the size you select, as long as it's sturdy, you like the look, and it has the displays/readouts you like. I'd also get one that has one or two temperature probes built in (cause I was always misplacing my old hand held one, kind of like all my tools). I wouldn't get too caught up in the label some factory in China slapped on it. Caveat - I am no expert, but I did do a fair amount of reading on it before buying.

Reactions: kerpal_68
OK Joes has a lot of complaints about its auger malfunctioning. Since it is mechanical, I'd look for one with good customer service and warranty. No Traeger though. Overpriced junk. Green Mountain is a good grill according to a couple of friends that like and use theirs a lot. But the legs are kind of stupid IMO.

Wouldn’t say Traeger is junk. Their service was great when the prong for the temp probe broke off in the jack. They just sent me a completely new computer for it. And best part is, it was the newer version. My previous one only had 1 temp probe. This one had 2.

I kinda want to get 2 new ones. One of the WiFi ones, and a camping one.

I've had my pit boss for 6 or 7 years and still works great. I know technology is a lot better on them now. I would get one with a ash dump out if I could now.

I've got the Cabela's brand pellet grill and it works great.