ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Floor jack recommendation

bigboxes

Nebraska Legend
Sep 4, 2004
Arlington, TX
I've got a cheapo Harbor Freight jack that sucks. It replaced a very well built Craftsman that I've retired after 20 years. So, what the recommendation for a floor jack? I want a good one.

I've looked on Amazon and some of their aluminum ones look nice. I've got no experience with those. I am rocking a Camry. It will not be stored in the trunk. It will be for home use.

I've never had to do anything my compact Harbor Freight jack couldn't handle, but I'm probably a much lighter user. Anything more than changing a flat, I take it over to my father-in-law who has an actual lift in his shop. Surprisingly, setup cost him less than $2k if I recall correctly, but he did all the install work himself which saved alot of money.

I've got a cheapo Harbor Freight jack that sucks. It replaced a very well built Craftsman that I've retired after 20 years. So, what the recommendation for a floor jack? I want a good one.

I've looked on Amazon and some of their aluminum ones look nice. I've got no experience with those. I am rocking a Camry. It will not be stored in the trunk. It will be for home use.
I bought a off brand 3 ton at a parts store it’s yellow but couldn’t tell you the name for under 200. It works great. Personally I’d stay away from the aluminum one.

Napa are pretty indestructible.

Reactions: bigboxes
I bought a heavy duty low profile Dayton brand at harbor freight a year ago when they were running a very good sale on them. It was their top of the line at that time and has done well so far

Stay away from Performance tool. Everything they make is pure garbage.

My $80 Harbor Freight jack has served me well for the past 5ish years. Just make sure to maintain it with grease/oil/fluid.

I got mine at Menards, I want to say the brand is called Big Red. I tried to be cheap and get a bottle jack first, I immediately hated it and took it back.