ADVERTISEMENT

Just rewatched the game. A couple thoughts on the lines. - Game 3

GretnaShawn

Recruiting Coordinator
Sep 28, 2010

Here is my now weekly (or until people stop commenting) thread about the line play. I am by no means an expert, but here is an analysis. Take it for what it is.

-I am going to try and stay away from the obvious things (penalties, drops, poor tackling, etc).It has been said already.
-During the first half the offensive line as a whole played pretty well. It was a good start for them. If it were not for formation penalties, drops and the INT, the offense would be staying pretty close to them.
-Kondolo had one bad block where it was an easy angle. He just stopped moving his feet and it blew up the play.
-The only O-linemen that had a bad half was Lewis. He had 4-5 bad plays.
-Reeves has got to keep his snaps down. Way too many high snaps. Throws the run games timing off. Especially on zone read plays.
-McMullen is the slowest person off the ball on every snap. I am not sure if that is due to responsibilities, lack of effort or lack of fitness/ability. He is not a pass rush threat at all. I hope it is due to his responsibilities, but it sure looks like a lack of effort.

Second half:
-The hits keep coming for Lewis. He was the illegal man down field.
-Near the end of the 3rd, TA gets sacked on a 3&8 for 21 yards. The OL blocked okay. TA had 4 seconds before true pressure got to him. He needs to get rid of it quicker.
-The OL did a great job of pass pro during the 4th quarter. Miami was pinning their ears back and they kept TA pretty clean.

Final notes:
-If the offense could have stayed of schedule (not had drops/penalties) they could have had a great day and kept up with Miami. Getting behind by 24 points makes it hard to stay with the run game. But we were running the ball really well.
-I like how much zone read/QB runs were incorporated this week.