ADVERTISEMENT

Hoiberg leading canidate

Hope people are wrong about him not liking recruiting if he is the choice..

Nobody likes recruiting.

Here's what he said a few weeks ago when asked about his comments:

“Some of the things I liked about recruiting were building relationships with the kid and building relationships with the family,” Hoiberg said. “I liked that a lot. I felt like I was pretty good at it. We had some really high-level players here as transfers and also as four-year guys.

“It’s the most important thing you do as a college coach, I get that. If it is a college opportunity, I’ll go 100 percent at it and do the best job I can to build the program.

"It is a grind. You can talk to any college coach, and they’ll tell you the same thing. And if they tell you something different, they’re lying to you.”

I would be excited if he becomes the next HC. I'm a little surprised his name isn't associated with UCLA more especially if true he doesn't like to recruit. The bruins would seem to be a no brainier lots of local talent a program with a rich history. Seems like an easy place to recruit to fir a good head coach. Dunno maybe he just like the Midwest.

I would be excited if he becomes the next HC. I'm a little surprised his name isn't associated with UCLA more especially if true he doesn't like to recruit. The bruins would seem to be a no brainier lots of local talent a program with a rich history. Seems like an easy place to recruit to fir a good head coach. Dunno maybe he just like the Midwest.

UCLA just fired a coach that made it to 3 Sweet Sixteens in 4 years, and won 31 games 2 years ago.

Before that, they fired a coach that made it to 2 Final Fours and won 4 conference championships.

Those results would get you a statue at Nebraska.

UCLA also plays their games late at night after most of the country has gone to bed, and the only people watching are those that want to hear what crazy things Bill Walton will say next.